top of page

Obstacles - Barrels and Crates

Welcome to my first submission here!

I'm an ardent painter of miniatures and builder of terrain for tabletop games. With the upcoming Vanguard I was in need of some more smaller pieces of terrain, especially obstacles. I'll begin by posting my latest finished pieces. Some crates and barrels on bases of different shapes and sizes. The barrels are made of plastic and were supplied on sprues. The crates are laser-cut MDF wood which required quite a lot of fiddly assembly. Lots of wood glue on my fingers and my hobby table!

After assembly I glued them to their appropriate bases with a wild mix of pieces in mind. Before priming them black I added sand to the bases. Several layers of drybrushed brown shades and some dark washes later I glued static grass on the bases and painted the edges black as I think that makes them "tidier".

I've got lots of terrain already finished building and painted them, too. All for Kings of War and/or Vanguard. My next big project are some 10-ish ruins of timber-framed houses I initially built for the fan-made Star-Struck City project. Next up will be some fences and a well I completely scratch-built. Stay tuned!

Feedback & Discussion
Other Content You Might Like...
bottom of page